Information about the Social Welfare Tribunal

Print page

The Social Welfare Tribunal is a statutory body set up in 1982 to deal with cases where entitlement to Jobseeker's Benefit or Jobseeker's Allowance is refused due to an involvement in a trade dispute. Where a person feels that he/she has been unreasonably deprived of employment because his/her employer refused or failed to follow the negotiating machinery available for settling disputes, he/she may apply to the Tribunal for an adjudication on the matter.

The Tribunal is made up of a Chairperson and four ordinary members. The members of the Tribunal are appointed by the Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection and must consist of an independent Chairperson, two members nominated by the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU) and two by the Irish Business and Employer's Confederation (IBEC).


The legislation governing the operation of the Social Welfare Tribunal is contained in sections 331 - 333 of the Social Welfare (Consolidation), Act, 2005.


Enquiries relating to the work of the Social Welfare Tribunal may be directed to:
The Secretary of the Social Welfare Tribunal,
Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection,
Gandon House,
Amiens Street,
Dublin 1.

Last modified:04/03/2016